~ Arise and Shine ~

Butterfly Impressions

EMBARK – Youth Theme for 2015

on January 11, 2015
It’s difficult for me to choose favorites.  There are so many wonderful things that our Heavenly Father has created for us.  But, if I had to choose my dream career, I think I would have to choose working with the LDS Youth through preparing and participating in Especially For Youth (EFY).

 

That being said, I love the Youth Theme for 2015:
“Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that ye may stand blameless before God at the last day” (Doctrine and Covenants 4:2).

 

Now, if you haven’t noticed by now, one of the things that I love to do is find meaning in meaningful things.  Something that really stands out to me in this verse of scripture is the list, “heart, might, mind and strength”.  Below are some of my personal thoughts about these different parts of us, and how we can use each one to better serve our Heavenly Father.

 

Heart (Emotional Strength)

 

About a week ago, I read a talk from the most recent General Conference (October 2014) given by Elder Lynn G. Robbins entitled “Which Way Do You Face?”  This talk came to mind when I thought about what it means to serve God with all your heart.

 

When you serve God with all your heart, you are loyally dedicated to Him.  Before anyone else, you seek His direction and choose to follow Him.  Your heart belongs to Him.

 

 “Yea, and when you do not cry unto the Lord, let your hearts be full, drawn out in prayer unto him continually for your welfare, and also for the welfare of those who are around you” (Alma 34:27).

 

 “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, I know that if ye shall follow the Son, with full purpose of heart, acting no hypocrisy and no deception before God, but with real intent, repenting of your sins, witnessing unto the Father that ye are willing to take upon you the name of Christ, by baptism—yea, by following your Lord and your Savior down into the water, according to his word, behold, then shall ye receive the Holy Ghost; yea, then cometh the baptism of fire and of the Holy Ghost; and then can ye speak with the tongue of angels, and shout praises unto the Holy One of Israel” (2 Nephi 31:13).

 

 

Might (Spiritual Strength)

 

When I think of might as a strength, I also think of might as a decision: “I might do this, or I might do that.”  Therefore, serving God with all your might is serving him with courage and determination in your righteous resolutions.  You “stand as witnesses of God at all times and in all things, and in all places” – steadfast in your integrity (Mosiah18:9).  And, as the Young Women Personal Progress Book states, “I will have the moral courage to make my actions consistent with my knowledge of right and wrong.”

 

“Wherefore, the people of Nephi did fortify against them with their arms, and with all their might, trusting in the God and rock of their salvation; wherefore, they became as yet, conquerors of their enemies” (Jacob 7:25).

 

 

Mind (Mental Strength)

 

To serve God with all your mind, you must have pure thoughts and an open-mind.  As mortals, our understanding is limited, whereas God’s is unlimited.  You must be willing to change your mind to believe, trust, and understand in accordance with God’s teachings.

 

Being teachable is about much more than just learning things.  To be teachable, you must be humble.  Your opinions and thoughts must be tentative and changeable.  And, you must always trust Heavenly Father’s omniscience above your own knowledge and experience.

 

 “And these are the words which he spake and caused to be written, saying: My brethren, all ye that have assembled yourselves together, you that can hear my words which I shall speak unto you this day; for I have not commanded you to come up hither to trifle with the words which I shall speak, but that you should hearken unto me, and open your ears that ye may hear, and your hearts that ye may understand, and your minds that the mysteries of God may be unfolded to your view” (Mosiah 2:9).

 

 “Know thou the God of thy father, and serve him with a perfect heart and with a willing mind: for the Lord searcheth all hearts, and understandeth all the imaginations of the thoughts: if thou seek him, he will be found of thee; but if thou forsake him, he will cast thee off for ever” (1 Chronicles 28:9).

 

“For I will forgive you of your sins with this commandment—that you remain steadfast in your minds in solemnity and the spirit of prayer, in bearing testimony to all the world of those things which are communicated unto you” (Doctrine andCovenants 84:61).

 

 

Strength (Physical Strength)

 

Your strength is your ability to act.  To serve God with your strength, you must be willing to “go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded”, as Nephi did (1 Nephi 3:7).  When you use your ability to righteously act in God’s name, you are serving Him.  In dedicating your actions to Heavenly Father, you become His disciple.

 

“And thus we see that the commandments of God must be fulfilled. And if it so be that the children of men keep the commandments of God he doth nourish them, and strengthen them, and provide means whereby they can accomplish the thing which he has commanded them” (1 Nephi 17:3).

 

 “Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever” (Alma 26:12).

 

 

Leave a Reply

